Devron30

Wheel Horse C-100

Devron30

I am new to wheel horse tractors. I just bought a 1975 c-100 for $375. Plan on using it for small jobs around my property (garden plowing, small trailer pull, etc…) any tips on these or things to watch out for or upgrade please send my way. Thanks in advance!! 

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Edited by Devron30
  • Like 6

daveoman1966

That is a good buy at 375.  tips:

1) change engine oil twice year...spring & fall

2) NEVER try to shift-on-the-fly.  This is NOT a gear synchronized transmission.  You MUST be at full STOP when going from 1 gear to the next.

3)Find a gas station that sells ethanol free gasoline....otherwise the carb will get plugged.

4) run engine at at least 1/2 throttle at all time.  Cooling fins on flywheel don't move enough air to keep engine cool at low rpm.

5) Pull off engine covers and clean out engine fins.  

Others will chime in, I'm sure.

Edited by daveoman1966
  • Like 5

Devron30
4 minutes ago, daveoman1966 said:

5) Pull off engine covers and clean out engine fins.  

Where exactly is that? Lol I'm telling ya I'm new to all this. 

What should I clean it with?

• Like 1

T-Mo

Now I know who bought this tractor before I could get there. I have been talking to the guy for a few days.  I responded to that ad just after he posted it.  I was going to go up yesterday, but he called me first to let me know he sold it.  What is bad is that he agreed to Tuesday but then he said he had plans, so Wednesday was better.  He was going to sell it to me for $350.  Check out post 7 in this thread: 

Same pictures as in my post there.  Oh well, I guess I missed out, but the search goes on for me.  Congrats on just a nice tractor.