Sign in to follow this  
wheeledhorseman

C-120 Automatic restoration

wheeledhorseman

I bought my first Wheel Horse a couple of months ago as a non-runner for spares or repairs. Despite being a rather sorry looking example it seemed pleased to see me when I turned up to collect it, realising perhaps that it would be restored come what may rather than be broken for spares. I normally restore cars or military vehicles but this is the first tractor project and it will actually be used on the land round the barn where I keep my collection of vehicles etc.

Having cleaned the points and wired up the ignition correctly I got it to run in the barn but it took a few minutes to realise that it was splattering oil over my son's caravan - oops! Please remember I have no experience with a Kohler engine and discovered the core plug next to the governor cross shaft was missing. Hmm, had a look and yes the shaft had no tab which must be down in the sump somewhere. Undeterred I ground a penny washer down to fit the hole as I was determined to have a first ride on it come what may. Despite having a small hole in the centre the oil stopped flying out but there was a bit of unhealthy crankcase pressure to add to the investigation list. It chugged along up hill then raced away with me going down hill (no governor action) and refused to do anything close to an idle.