vinnyfish1

1984 c145 automatic ..K321 fuel pump

vinnyfish1

I have a 1984 c145 automatic that looks like a 2 year old tractor ....K321 engine..the only modification is an electric fuel pump.. It works fine  but why would a car guy..that loved this machine not replace the original fuel pump???? I am new to Red Square as a member but have been learning from you guys for several years...... Best to the point advice I have seen on a forum...ever

• Like 1

vinnyfish1

FYI : I bought it from a car guy

JERSEYHAWG /  Glenn

vinny,,,, wellcome to red square. I for one wouldnt mind if you posted a few pictures of that fine machine.

There could be many reasons a prior owner did what he did. If it runs good and you like it, enjoy it.

Glenn

Molon_Labe

I can see a real advantage with the electric fuel pump. Since the gas tank is located under the seat and so far from the carburetor they sometimes take a lot of cranking especially after sitting a few days. That would not be the case with an electric pump, instant gas to the carb as soon as you turn the key on. My C-161 is getting an electric pump this winter for just that reason. And :WRS: vinny

squonk

I had a C-145 that the pump went bad on. If I didn't have a new pump already sitting on the shelf, I would have installed an electric one. I have done that to my C-160 and it works great.

vinnyfish1

post-13864-0-31245500-1412542387.jpgpost-13864-0-87989500-1412542422.jpgpost-13864-0-62954600-1412542462.jpgpost-13864-0-03181200-1412542488.jpg

Thanks for the replies .... the fuel pump works great it just seems a little rich cold .....but I think that is normal for older machines ......I think I have just got use to the newer ones that run so lean....I am still learning how this old girl,s sounds  , smells , and how it feels win my butt is on the seat .....I think you are right  m-bailey on the fuel pump,,,, added somes pics picks for J-hawg

• Like 1

varosd